Almost two weeks after the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), delisted about 74 political parties for what it called non-performance 18 of the affected political parties have formed alliance with the aim of repositioning ahead of future general elections.

It was learnt that the political parties which is currently operating under the umbrella of Coalition of Progressive Political Parties (CoP3) have re grouped to strategise for better Nigeria among other objectives its members agreed to work towards during its national caucus meeting in Abuja on Wednesday.

CoP3 also used the occasion to advise other delisted political parties not to waste their time and resources seeking litigation in the court of law adding “as the legal process is long, tortuous, expensive, uncertain and not necessarily worth the effort.”

Consequently, the CoP3 urged other deregistered political parties who share the dream of genuine struggle for a better Nigeria to join forces with it “come together to work out strategies for making lasting impact by changing the nature of politics in Nigeria away from the usual struggle for patronage and public office for personal gain to the struggle to free the nation from the bondage of corruption and bad governance at all levels”.

The chairman of CoP3 , Mallam, Bashir Yusuf Ibrahim, while urging other political parties to embrace the new way forward commended said the deregistration of their parties was an opportunity to re think their strategy and reposition their collective assets towards the search for a better Nigeria beyond the pursuit of public office.

Ibrahim said in a press statement available to The New Narrative sources that “As a  Coalition, we see ourselves as multi-partisan”, adding “ we agreed to endeavour to embark on a struggle for a better Nigeria and change the thinking of citizens from considering politics as a vehicle for self fulfillment to one of collective fulfillment .”

The statement disclosed that the coalition parties include AAP, Accord, ACPN, APA, APM, FJP, Fresh, KOWA, NDLP, NNPP, PDM, SNP, UPN, UPP and YES.

According to the statement chairmen and top members of the delisted parties were in attendance of the Wednesday caucus meeting, notably among them are: Chief Chekwas Okorie, national chairman of UPP, Mohammed Lawal Nalado, Accord, Chief Oscar David Kalu, AAP, Alhaji Ganiyu Galadima, ACPN, Alhaji, Isma’ila Umar Sifawa, APA, Mallam Yusuf M. Dantalle, APM, Miss Chizoba Onu, Fresh, Alhaji Saidu Bobboi, KOWA, Mallam Haruna Y. Sheba, Alhaji Umar M. Maizabura, NDLP, Mr Agbo Major, NNPP, Mallam Yusuf Ibrahim, SNP, Alhaji Abubakar Abdullahi Sokoto, UPN, and  Elem Chukwuemeka, YES.

Efforts to speak with Chief Chekwas Okorie or spokesman of UPP, one of the parties in the Coaltion to confirm the development were futile.

Please follow and like us: